This Orthodox monastery was first mentioned in 1537, while its present-day appearance originates from the end of the 19th century. The main monastery Church of the Holy Trinity has an interesting, richly jagged architecture of the Raška style. It was decorated with frescoes by the priest Strahinja from Budimlje around 1600. The frescoes depict scenes with holy warriors, the Nemanjić dynasty, church holidays and the Passion of Christ.
The monastery treasury is exceptionally valuable. It stores many church valuables: collection of icons by the local icon-painter Andrija Raičević, artisan objects and a special relic – the cane of St. Sava, which was plated in 1606. The monastery library has valuable copies of manuscripts and illuminated books, as well as rare copies of printed books, including Trebnik from the Crnojević printing house. Throughout history the monastery was a cultural and educational centre, a centre of the transcribing and painting of books, woodwork and the creation of art and craft objects.