Annual tourism awards ceremony "Wild Beauty Award 2013" held and "Tourist New Year" celebrated

Rate >

The annual award ceremony "Wild Beauty Award 2013" for contribution to the quality, affirmation and promotion of Montenegrin tourism offer was held in "Splendid Conference & Spa" Hotel in Becici. The ceremony was merged with the celebration of "Tourist New Year", in cooperation with the Montenegrin Tourism Association.

These prominent national prizes were presented for the ninth consecutive year, under the auspices of the President of Montenegro Filip Vujanovic and organised by the National Tourism Organisation of Montenegro.

Awards were presented for contribution to the quality, affirmation and promotion of tourism offer in 23 categories, while 12 commendations were presented in specific categories.

Montenegrin Tourism Association granted three newly established awards for contribution to a successful cooperation with tourism industry and improvement of business environment.

"We have been spreading the name of small but glorious Montenegro this year, too. Maybe a new Monte Carlo, maybe a piece of the Alps in the Balkans, maybe a new Ibiza or Saint-Tropez of the Adriatic, or maybe a European Costa Rica. But the most likely case would be all of these within 13000 km² of unique Montenegro." These were the words of welcome to the audience by Sasa Radovic, Director of NTO of Montenegro.

Minister of Sustainable Development and Tourism Branimir Gvozdenovic congratulated award winners on their success. "This year the results planned have been achieved, and it is our pleasure to declare that the tourism year has been a success. We saw a rise in overnights by 20% in October."  Minister emphasised that the quality of tourism industry offer had been reflected in over 20 newly opened hotels and an improved accessibility by air. He used this opportunity to announce new projects, legislation amendments and upgrades, which are going to keep the status of Montenegro as a unique destination with bright future when it comes to tourism, jobs and investments.

Please find attached the information on the award winners.