The first school in the valley of Tara was opened by Archimandrite Michael Dožić Medenica in the St. George’s Monastery in Dobrilovina in 1870. The school would move from time to time to the nearby cave because of the Turkish attacks.
The St. George’s Monastery in Dobrilovina is located in the picturesque area of the Tara canyon on a fine plateau above the river between the rocky cliffs. Tranquillity and peace of this place are disturbed only by the noise of a nearby mountain water spring. The St. George’s Monastery had a turbulent past. As a symbol of literacy and resistance it was often attacked by the Turkish authorities. It was mentioned for the first time in 1592.