The medieval monastery in Župa, with its church dedicated to St. Lucas, was built on a plain on the left bank of the river Gračanica near Nikšić.
In the middle of the 19th century, during the montenegrin-turkish wars, Župa was the meeting place of the insurgents, especially under prince Danilo Petrović. It was burnt and plundered several times by the Turks and completely destroyed during Omer-paša's campaign on Montenegro in 1853. At that time the treasury of the monastery was burnt. Today's St. Lucas' church, with a cross-shaped plan, made of carved stone, was erected by prince Nikola Petrović in 1881. The Župa monastery is first mentioned at the tombstone of Jovica the Builder who took part in the renovation of the monastery in 1627.